Skip to main content

Honorary AmeriCorps Members

On Thursday, April 25, 2024, at the historic Southshore Cultural Center in Chicago, the Serve Illinois Commission on Volunteerism and Community Service hosted the 14th annual Governor’s Volunteer Service Awards.

In continuing with the AmeriCorps 30th Anniversary celebration, eighteen special guests were named Honorary AmeriCorps members for their exemplary service to the people in their communities and residents of the State of Illinois.

Those mentioned included the Leo High School choir, who performed several musical numbers for the event, Leo High School Principal Dr. Shaka Rawls, Coordinator Yolanda Sandifer-Horon, and Choir Director LaDonna Hill.

Masters of ceremony for the event, Dr. Jarmese Sherrod and Shelley Long were also named Honorary AmeriCorps Members.

These honorary AmeriCorps members were each asked to raise their right hand and recite the AmeriCorps Pledge, promising to continue and, whenever possible, share their passion for service. Everyone also received a pin from Volunteer Program Manager Jacob Jenkins to wear with pride wherever they go and to show support for the AmeriCorps mission.

Three decades ago, more than 20,000 Americans raised their right hands and pledged to get things done for America. These members helped more than 1,000 communities nationwide during their first year of service. Since then, more than 1.3 million Americans and hundreds of thousands more AmeriCorps Seniors volunteers of all backgrounds have followed in their footsteps, providing billions of hours of results-driven service across each of the 50 states and US territories.

In times of tragedy and triumph, when America calls, AmeriCorps answers. Whether its AmeriCorps members stepping forward to help after 9/11, aiding in recovery from disasters like Hurricane Katrina over decades, or pivoting to address the urgent needs created by the COVID-19 pandemic, AmeriCorps knows how to get things done for America and has been turning moments of impact into a national service movement throughout the years.

Congratulations to the 2023-24 Governor of Illinois’ Volunteer Service Award winners and our new Honorary AmeriCorps Members!