Skip to main content

News Release - April 19, 2017

News Release – Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Illinoisans Receive Governor’s Volunteer Service Award
Annual Awards Ceremony to be Held on April 25th in Springfield

 SPRINGFIELD – In honor of National Volunteer Week, the Serve Illinois Commission on Volunteerism and Community Service (Commission) will present 24 Illinoisans and four businesses with the Governor’s Volunteer Service Award during a special reception at the Old State Capitol on April 25, 2017 at 1 p.m. The award recognizes volunteers and volunteer programs that have made a difference in Illinois and highlights the importance of volunteerism and community service. The Governor has also proclaimed April 23-29 as National Volunteer Week in Illinois.

 “Those that are honored at the event are part of millions of Illinoisans that gave 286.6 million hours of their time to others in 2016,” said Commission Executive Director Scott McFarland. “These particular individuals and businesses have gone above and beyond in their efforts at improving their communities through volunteerism. We are proud to have them serving in Illinois.”

Nearly 200 nominations were received by the Commission in six categories (adult, AmeriCorps, business, senior, Senior Corps, and youth) from the Commission’s five service regions across the state (Northeast, Northwest, East Central, West Central, and Southern). Commissioners reviewed the nomination applications and selected 28 award winners.

The following are the 2017 Governor’s Volunteer Service Award recipients. More information about each recipient is available at

Adult Award Recipients:

East Central: Martina Mustroph – Urbana
For service to: Hermes Clinic

Northeast: David Cheeks – Chicago
For service to: Greater Chicago Food Depository

Northwest: Vicki Cover – Dixon
For service to: Kreider Services

Southern: Jonathan H.N. Long – Glen Carbon
For service to: Edwardsville NAACP Branch #3014

West Central: Stephen Born - Springfield
For service to: Lutheran Early Response Team

AmeriCorps Member Recipients:

East Central: Sarah Koeller - Conshohocken, PA (former resident of IL)
For service to: McLean County Health Department

Northeast: Genesis Rios - Chicago
For service to: Community Health

Northwest: Melissa Calhoun – Rock Island
For service to: Esperanza Child Care Center

Southern: Zorina “Ann” Brown – East St. Louis
For service to: Operation AmeriCorps - East St. Louis

West Central: Jamie Burns - Macomb
For service to: McDonough County Health Department

Business Recipients:

East Central: Martin's IGA Plus - Effingham
For service to: Organizations in Effingham County

Northeast: Motorola Mobility - Chicago
For service to: Citizen Schools

Southern: Zimdars Air Conditioning and Heating - Louisville
For service to: Meals on Wheels of CEFS

West Central: Hy-Vee Canton
For service to: Fulton County Emergency Services Disaster Agency

Senior Recipients:

East Central: Larry Altenbaumer - Decatur
For service to: Grow Decatur

Northeast: Richard Erickson - Wheaton
For service to: Reflections: A Community Project to Celebrate and Recognize Veterans Past and Present

Northwest: Mark Lawrence - Rockford
For service to: Vietnam Veterans of America, Chapter 984 at the Rockford Veterans Affairs Primary Care clinic

Southern: Ernest J. Collins – Mt. Vernon
For service to: American Legion Post #141-Mt. Vernon, IL

West Central: Roger Crawford - Washington
For service to: American Cancer Society

Senior Corps Member:

East Central: Genevieve Sutton - Sullivan
For service to: Mid-Illinois Senior Services

Northeast: Sarah Marsh - Joliet
For service to: Catholic Charities, Diocese of Joliet

Northwest: Beryl Hutson - Rockford
For service to: Boone County Jail

Southern: Sharon Kossman- Swansea
For service to: Southwestern IL College Senior Companion Program

West Central: Joseph Sutcliffe - Quincy
For service to: United Way of Adams County

Youth Award Recipients:

Northeast: Lily Alter – Oak Park
For service to: Housing Forward

Northwest: Victoria Kuzlik - Byron
For service to: Coats For Hope of Ogle County

Southern: Jha'Shaira Farmer – East St. Louis
For service to: East Side Aligned

West Central: Riley Moran - Peoria
For service to: Neighborhood House

The Serve Illinois Commission is a 40-member (25 voting and 15 non-voting), bi-partisan board appointed by the Governor and administered by the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH). Its mission is to improve Illinois communities by enhancing volunteerism and instilling an ethic of service throughout the State.